Boomi's Boombox's front cover

Boomi's Boombox

Hardcover
Rs 1439
Currently out of stock.
Request this book.
Genre:Travel
Language : English
Published: May 23, 2023
Edition:1st

Hardcover

ISBN13:9780063051584
ISBN10:0063051583
Pages:272
Dimensions:5.5 x 8.25 x 0.86 inches
Weight:323.18 g

About the Book

Acclaimed author Shanthi Sekaran delivers a powerful story about grief, family, dance, and friendship that follows a young girl who accidentally travels back in time to meet her dad as a child that will change her life forever. Perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish and The Ethan I Was Before. A Junior Library Guild Selection!

When Boomi’s dad dies of Covid, the rest of her life topples like a row of dominoes. First her best friend, Bebe, stops talking to her. Then she gets kicked out of her ballet academy. Her mom becomes hyper focused on her weight. Her grandmother sinks further into the shadows of her mind.

Then Boomi is given one last gift from her dad: his old boombox. Inside it, she finds a mix tape and a note: You can change your life. When she presses play on the boombox, her life really does change: she’s magically transported to Thumpton-on-Soar, England, 1986. And her dad’s there!

But he doesn’t know he’s her dad—he’s twelve, just like Boomi. Boomi starts to see what being twelve was like for her dad, growing up Indian in a town that wanted to silence people like him. She starts to understand why he never went back. But why is Boomi sent back to Thumpton? Is she supposed to save her dad? Or change her life?